Report Malicious Sites to Google with this Bookmarklet

I recently read a PC World article about a Google page that has a form where you can report a malicious website (a site with bad content like viruses and the like). It’s a new feature that Google unveiled (announcement). I found that Google will validate a url passed to it and insert it into the form. I thought this would be much better if you could click a bookmark in your browser and automatically pass the url of the current website to the Google form. So I created a bookmarklet (bookmark with javascript) and here it is.

Drag the bookmarklet link to the bookmark area of your browser. And when you click it a new window will be opened showing the Google form with the URL of the bad site filled in for you.

Bookmarklet: Report Malicious Site

Spread the word so everyone can help get rid of bad sites. Enjoy, from Jason of JasonBlogs.com.

22 Comments so far »

  1. John Identicon Icon John said,

    Wrote on December 6, 2007 @ 3:55 am

    This is really neat. Thanks for making it, Jason!

  2. orierryenligh Identicon Icon orierryenligh said,

    Wrote on August 1, 2008 @ 4:49 pm

    best search engine google

  3. gymnFloorgo Identicon Icon gymnFloorgo said,

    Wrote on August 25, 2008 @ 7:40 am

    endemic inside adjoining dream of

  4. ngnuqbnpgy Identicon Icon ngnuqbnpgy said,

    Wrote on August 27, 2008 @ 11:50 pm

    Hello my friend, your site is very good! http://ckzbfpcptm.com

  5. lesbian making hengelo Identicon Icon lesbian making hengelo said,

    Wrote on September 3, 2008 @ 9:08 pm

    commissaris hengelo lesbian hengelo on lesbian

  6. Steve Identicon Icon Steve said,

    Wrote on November 30, 2008 @ 8:24 am

    Thanks man,just what i was lookin for :)

  7. Tony Partridge Identicon Icon Tony Partridge said,

    Wrote on April 14, 2009 @ 8:01 am

    Thanks for the information on reporting malicious sites.
    I have now reported my first.

  8. seun Identicon Icon seun said,

    Wrote on May 21, 2009 @ 10:14 am

    http://clifedo.net/p1d2f3.php?id=3708271&vis=1

    This site contains very dangerous virus that can harm systems

  9. Jay mosh Identicon Icon Jay mosh said,

    Wrote on July 16, 2009 @ 7:01 pm

    Many young adults and children go to the site “www.TrailerAddict.com” to look up their favorite new movie trailers. However the problem is that if you add an ’s’ to the link accidentally, you are sent to the pornography site called ‘www.TrailerAddicts.com which has no warning page or 18+ verification. I believe that the filth site needs to have a warning page, or be shut down. There are graphic images on the page as soon as it loads.

  10. Dee Identicon Icon Dee said,

    Wrote on September 26, 2009 @ 2:25 pm

    Subject: Fwd: Reported it to Google Webmaster twice as a “Malicious Intrusion” from an “Entity” calling itself “Total Securty.”

    It displays itself in my “Address” space on EVERY log in (since the invasion a few days ago) as:

    http://partnerpage.google.com/toshibadirect.com

    This “Entity” hides feom all my virus and spyware runs (scans) and hounds me continually to buy protection from it. It calls itself “Total Security” and it disconnects me, blocks my work, disconnects me from Microsoft, etc. My computer does not even detect it. It hides and harrasses me continually. It came directly from a link on a Google research page. Twice. I managed to escape the first invasion. Not the second one however. It knew that it was aimed at a Toshiba computer (what I have) and it says it comes from a “partner.google” feature. It displays this way when I log on…in my “Address” space and it says it is specifically aimed at: toshiba direct.com (which is what I have).

    This “Thing” is a set trap…on daming Obama research material.

  11. Carla Identicon Icon Carla said,

    Wrote on October 4, 2009 @ 3:48 am

    Thanks for setting up the link, it made it so easy. http://www.usawallpaper.com – This company does not have any stock left however their web-site is going so basically you place your order, they charge your credit card and then don’t send your order. If you request a refund they say they are experiencing financial troubles and cannot refund your money. :(

  12. gilchrist Wintry Identicon Icon gilchrist Wintry said,

    Wrote on October 18, 2009 @ 12:43 am

    Found one the real people thats been spamming all the people on CRAIGSLIST and there website is selling everybody’s e-mail address that reply to all the fake websites they have.

    nambu.com
    The Nambu Network, Inc.
    Eric Woodward
    ejw@nambu.com
    #205 – 280 Nelson Street
    Vancouver, BC V6B 2E2 CA
    Phone: +604.6898305

  13. Johanna Smit Identicon Icon Johanna Smit said,

    Wrote on December 12, 2009 @ 10:37 pm

  14. Joel Identicon Icon Joel said,

    Wrote on December 24, 2009 @ 5:08 pm

    watch out for http://www.antivirusgratis.com it will have you pay $70 to destroy your own computer and hacker has your credit card info

  15. john Identicon Icon john said,

    Wrote on January 10, 2010 @ 11:26 pm

    Hey, Thanks for the link/Bookmarklet! works Awesome. Used the link to report a website impersonating Best Bu@. Saw it once or twice, and it annoyed me enough to report it. Unrelated comment, I knew a guy in school with last name Schramm. – He was from NE PA area. I doubt a relation, but he was a great guy…Must be in the name?

  16. Roger Identicon Icon Roger said,

    Wrote on January 18, 2010 @ 12:23 am

    this needs removed, i am also reporting to local police! 2010 psychic earthquake predictions torrent – Btscene Downloads …
    Jan 15, 2010 … 2010 psychic earthquake predictions torrent download.Download with safety your favorite 2010 psychic earthquake predictions torrent from our …
    http://www.btscene.com/search/term/…psychic+earthquake+predictions/…/0/ – Cached

  17. Roger Identicon Icon Roger said,

    Wrote on January 18, 2010 @ 12:32 am

  18. Fred Identicon Icon Fred said,

    Wrote on March 9, 2010 @ 10:40 pm

    Thanks very much for the address. It is easy to report bod web sites to MSN under their “Security” tab, it was impossible to find how to report to Firefox.

  19. Fred Identicon Icon Fred said,

    Wrote on March 9, 2010 @ 10:41 pm

    Thanks very much for the address. It is easy to report bad web sites to MSN under their “Security” tab, it was impossible to find how to report to Firefox.

    Sorry meant, “bad” web sites, wrote, “bod” web sites above.

    Fred

  20. Biniam Identicon Icon Biniam said,

    Wrote on May 12, 2010 @ 3:56 am

    my computer antivirus said the accessed link was malicious

  21. air Identicon Icon air said,

    Wrote on May 26, 2010 @ 11:33 pm

    This designer sucks at designing.

  22. air Identicon Icon air said,

    Wrote on May 26, 2010 @ 11:43 pm

    Yeah, singingfish.com was awesome. Too bad AOL killed it. There is this new site http://sadsteve.com though, that works in much the same way. And, in my opinion, downloads are easier.

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Name: (Required)

E-mail: (Required)

Website:

Comment: